Been a while

I’ve been slammed with work and school, but I wanted to make a quick update while I was thinking about it.

I finally culled the corn down to one stalk per hole. It’s been shooting up like crazy; some are a little taller than my knees! Now they’ll have the room to grow and not have to fight over nutrients.

I’ve started watering in the mornings as well as late afternoons to counter the heat. It appears to be having a positive effect on the tomatoes, though. There are still a few wilted plants, but some of them have recovered and a few that were doing well are now flourishing. The Big Beef has half a dozen fruits, one of which is almost fist-sized. Still, it’s a waiting game to see how they turn out.

I harvested my first couple of jalapenos. Roasted them on the grill and made them into burger toppings. Both jalapeno plants look to be fruitful. Still waiting for some flowering on the habaneros.

Seeing more bell peppers starting to show. Waiting for the explosion.

The crookneck and zucchini squashes are flowering like crazy. The blossoms open in the morning and are a gorgeous yellow/orange.

The herbs are unchanged. Oregano is barely holding on, basil is almost out of controls, and the parsley is good.

So far, I’ve definitely learned a couple of lessons for next year.

1) Plan out the plot for maximum sunlight.

2) Till and re-till several times.

3) Mix in some fertilizer and/or compost.

4) Don’t plant the cucumbers in a flood zone.

5) Plant earlier, if possible.

Well, that’s all for now.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Yeah, I tilled and already have new grass growing straight under the surface to dive into the newly-compost-fertilized environment around my veg. 😦 I’m going to have to till it again in the fall and work in a lot more compost than what I’ve already put in, and I MIGHT buy some boards and lay them in around my plots to try to stop the weeds from encroaching into the patch. Not sure yet, but it may be my only real option to prevent further grass-patches. You might want to consider the same thing — dig out a trench, slap in a 1×10 board on its edge along the sides of where you’re planning on planting to keep the weeds from crawling in. That way, you can till out the interior of that area repeatedly and it SHOULD help keep new weeds from diving in.

    Oregano requires partial shade. If you can plant it beneath the tomatoes next time ’round, you may find it does better that way. It also does really well in pots.

    Basil always goes nuts. Pick leaves regularly, throw ’em into your salad or on burgers, etc. It helps tame it a bit and keeps it from going to seed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

