Planting update

I got seven more plants into the ground today. That makes eleven tomato plants in the plot and caged: 2 Husky Cherry Reds, Black Cherry, Mr. Stripey, Early Girl, Mortgage Lifter, Sweet 100, Black Krim, Amelia, and Bonnie Select. I should have another 4+ planted tomorrow and again on Friday. Saturday and Sunday will see the rest in the ground.

The corn is going to be time consuming, but hopefully worthwhile. I’m already drooling at the thought of fresh corn and tomatoes.

One thing I know for sure: ensuing seasons will be easier to plant than this one. Further tilling and the mixing in of dead vegetable matter will improve the soil quality (there’s a lot of clay about 3 inches below the surface) and help get rid of the roots I keep hitting. Fortunately, my pocket knife has a serrated blade.

Anyway, that’s all for tonight.

One response to this post.

  1. I’m literally removing the roots… well, the roots for the grass/weeds, as much as I can. But soon, compost will go in. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

