Big harvest day

I wanted to bring some hot peppers in for a couple of my coworkers, so I decided to go harvesting this afternoon. I ended up with one Celebrity tomato (second from the plant and it looks like it’s getting ready to have a bunch of new fruits soon), 19 Sweet Million cherry tomatoes (my biggest harvest of them to date), 29 Thai hot peppers (there are dozens more that are ripe and ready, but I didn’t have the patience for all of them), 4 jalapenos (going to leave the rest on there to see if they go red), 4 Fresno peppers (all of the red ones, leaving the green ones to ripen further), and a hot banana pepper.

I was a little surprised when I sat back and looked at everything, especially considering that I hadn’t stripped what was available completely bare. I really need to start reading up on making hot sauce so that I can make sure my peppers don’t go to waste.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori on July 18, 2011 at 6:18 PM

    Hey, is there any stem left on the hot peppers? I ask this because you can hang-dry them and store them that way -without- having to make hot sauce. Just tie some yarn/twine/string of some type to the stem, and hang in a cool, dry area out of direct light. They’ll dry out on their own. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by chaosrunner on July 18, 2011 at 8:05 PM

      I’ve always been a little unsure of how to go about doing that. But if it’s as simple as tying string around the stems, then that should be doable. Just need to trim to give more stem room.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

