Overdue update

Been a little overwhelmed with things recently, so I haven’t been posting. But don’t let that fool you into thinking that I haven’t been tending to the ol’ garden.

I’m up to four plants in the ground and may get one or two more in, but it’s difficult to say for certain. Quit frankly, it’s a lot of work and there’s only so much room. Still, the tomatoes might require a little more room than they have right now, so I may not have much of a choice if I want them to thrive. Assuming I keep up with this thing throughout the season, I may have to invest the time and money into getting a real plot set up for next year.

All of the plants except for the watermelon have fruits now. And the watermelon has started flowering. It’s spread out pretty far and I’m curious to see what happens when the melons start growing.

The first of the bigger tomatoes had a ripe fruit yesterday. The Celebrity’s first tomato was juicy and a touch acidic. I sliced it and put a little sea salt and ground pepper on it. Great snack.

The cherry tomato and Sweet Million have been picking up the pace and started turning out multiple ripe fruits a day. All of the hot peppers have been flourishing.

I’ve had some nasty brown spots on a few fruits that has made me pick them and toss them to keep any potential nastiness from spreading and to keep the plant from wasting resources on bad fruits.

Finally, I’m a little concerned about my cucumbers. They’re producing well, but they seem to have an underlying bitter taste. Not sure if I just need to leave them on longer or what, but it’s irritating.

Anyway, I’ll leave you with a picture of the Celebrity tomato that I picked yesterday. More updates to come.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Has it been hot there? Cucumbers don’t really like heat, though I’ve had luck with lemon cucumbers and Armenian cucumbers not getting bitter.

    Reply

  2. Posted by chaosrunner on June 30, 2011 at 11:56 PM

    It has, indeed, been quite hot. Hmmm. Might need to give up on them for next year if that’s going to be a problem. Thanks for the heads up, Joy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

