What’s in the garden?

When I purchased the initial plants for the garden, I picked up five varieties of tomatoes, two different hot peppers, and cucumber. A week or so later, my wife picked up a few more plants. As of right now, here’s the full list of what’s in our garden:

1 German Queen (heirloom beefsteak tomato) *

1 Brandywine (heirloom beefsteak tomato) *

1 Sweet Million (hybrid cherry tomato) *

1 Cherry tomato of unknown variety *

1 Roma tomato *

1 Celebrity (hybrid medium-sized tomato)

1 Early Girl (hybrid medium-sized tomato)

3 Better Boy (hybrid beefsteak tomato)

1 Big Early bell pepper

1 Thai hot pepper *

1 Jalapeño pepper

1 Hot Banana pepper

1 Fresno pepper *

2 Cucumber bushes *

1 Watermelon

(* next to name indicates that it was part of the original group)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori on June 5, 2011 at 2:07 AM

    I tend to avoid the beefsteak tomatoes and go for sauce or cherry tomatoes more often than not, but the perks to beefsteaks are that you can make a LOT of salsa with ’em (and use them in a bunch of other ways). Sauce tomatoes like Romas are good for storing and/or canning spaghetti sauce with, though, and that’s by and large how I use tomatoes the most (well, outside of cherry tomatoes, which I just eat like candy). 😉

    Fresnos are good, midrange peppers — you may find you’ll want more of those (especially if you like chile rellenos). But the others can be tied into a ristra and hang-dried so that you can use ’em later, although their potency will be a little reduced from fresh.

    I want pictures!

    Reply

  2. Posted by chaosrunner on June 5, 2011 at 2:15 AM

    I’m pretty familiar with hot pepper varietals. Spicy food is one of my passions. Though the jalapeños will pair nicely with the larger tomatoes for that salsa you mentioned. But I prefer beefsteaks for sandwiches. But I’m a big fan of deli sandwiches. And they’ll also make a good bruschetta topping along with some of the bell pepper. As for the hot peppers, other than going in my chili and soaking some of the hotter ones in rum (it kicks like a mule that way), I was going to work on making my own hot sauce. I have plenty of vinegar and I figure I can blend the flavors and hotness levels to my personal liking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

